Society Awards

NEPTUNE Award: Co-founders of ISOPE

Prof. Jin S. Chung, Colorado School of Mines, Golden, Colorado, USA

Dr. Birger J Natvig, Marine Technology Consulting AS, Haslum, Norway

Prof. Tseng Huang, University of Texas at Arlington, TX, USA

Prof. Yukio Ueda, Osaka University, Osaka, Japan

Prof. Yucheng Li, Dalian University of Technology, Dalian, China

Prof. Kun Mo Han, Dong-A University, Busan, Korea


ISOPE Awards (for significant services to or achievements for the Society or ISOPE conferences): Established in 1991.

EUROMS Award (for significant services to or achievements ISOPE EUROMS symposium): Established in 1990.

PACOMS Award (for significant services to or achievements ISOPE PACOMS symposium): Established in 1990.

ISOPE OMS Award (for achievement to ISOPE OMS Awards to or achievement for the Society and ISOPE Ocean Mining Symposium): Established in 1995.


Session Organizer-of-the-Year Award with Prize (for inviting the largest number of papers to the Annual ISOPE Conference for the year): Established in 1997.

The Session Organizer of the Year (2018) Award ($1,000 prize)

Dr. Shiqian Yan, City, University of London, London, UK


ISOPE Best Paper Awards (for papers presented in the year earlier):  Established in 1992.

2017 ISOPE Best Paper

Investigation of the Motion Accuracy Influence on Sloshing Model Test Results

Dr. J. Neugebauer, et al. University of Duisburg-Essen, Duisburg, Germany


Osaka Prize with $1,000 (selected among the Best Paper Awards): Established in 1995-2004).


ISOPE Best Student Paper Awards (for papers presented in the year):  Established in 1998.

2018 Best Student Paper Award ($1,000 Prize)

Artificial Neural Network Model for Risk-Based Inspection Screening Assessment of Oil and Gas Production System

Mr. Andika Rachman, University of Stavanger, Norway


Jin S Chung Award & Lecture (2004-)

Prof. Jin S. Chung Award & Lecture: Nomination for 2020

Prof. Jin S. Chung Award & Lecture Recipients:

Prof. Torgier Moan (Norway, 2006); NTNU, Trondheim, Norway

2007: Prof. Yukio Ueda (Japan, 2007),  Osaka University, Osaka, Japan

Prof. C.H. Kim (USA, 2008), Texas A&M University, College Station, TX, USA

Dr. Jayoung Koo (Korea, 2009), SK Innovation, Seoul, Korea

Prof. Hiroshi Saeki (Japan, 2010), Hokkaido University, Sapporo, Japan

Prof. Robert E. Melchers (Australia, 2012), The University of Newcastle, Newcastle, Australia

Prof. Ivar Langen (Norway, 2013), University of Stavanger, Stavanger, Norway

Prof. Wataru Koterayama (Japan, 2014), Kyushu University, Fukuoka, Japan

Prof. Michael Triantafyllou (USA, 2015), Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA, USA

Prof. Masashi Kashiwagi (Japan, 2016); Osaka University, Osaka, Japan

Prof. Chiang C. Mei (USA, 2017); Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA, USA

Prof. Ove Tobias Gudmestad (Norway, 2018), University of Stavanger, Stavanger, Norway

Dr. Douglas P. Fairchild (USA, 2019), ExxonMobil Upstream Engineering Co., Spring, TX, USA

Prof. Shigeru Naito (Japan, 2020), Osaka University, Osaka, Japan


C H Kim Award (2006,  $1,000 prize)

Professor Shigeru Naito, Osaka University, Osaka, Japan

Professor Wataru Koterayama, Kyushu University, Kasuga, Japan

Professor Masashi Kashiwagi, Research Institute for Applied Mechanics, Kyushu University, Fukuoka, Japan

Dr. Pierre Ferrant, Ecole Centrale de Nantes, Nantes, France

Prof. Frederic Dias, Ecole Normale Superieure de Cachan, Cachan, France

Professor Francis Noblesse, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, Shanghai, China

Prof. Qingwei Ma, City, University London, London, United Kingdom

Dr. Sa Young Hong, MOERI, Korea Institute of Ocean Science and Technology, Daejeon, Korea

Dr. Katsuji Tanizawa, National Maritime Research Institute, Tokyo, Japan

Dr. Masahiko Nakamura, RIAM, Kyushu University, Kasuga, Japan

Prof. Chi Yang, George Mason University, Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Dr. Abbas Khayyer, Kyoto University, Kyoto, Japan


Distinguished Technical Achievement Award: Established in 1997.

Offshore Mechanics Scholarships (annually given for 2~5 per year since 1991): To reflect the broader interdisciplinary ISOPE scope, the name changed in 2010 to ISOPE Scholarship for Outstanding Student